Wanna K.O. your existing Office 2013 installation? Simply launch the installer

Ummm ... yeah. Time for bed.
Ummm … yeah. Time for bed.

You’re not gonna believe this, because I sure couldn’t when it happened. But here goes: earlier tonight I discovered that I’m actually running 32-bit Office 2013 instead of 64-bit. Since I default to 64-bit where available, I was surprised at this and went back to my Office 2013 purchase email to check out the installer provided therein. I figured I must have missed a 64-bit option in there somewhere.

So I downloaded the installer I’d previously used and launched it. “Setting things up,” it said. I’m out of town and on a slower connection, so I decided to kill the installer via Task Manager. It was then I discovered that ALL of my Office application links were gone. Vanished. Completely.

I have never.




encountered an installer that blew away an existing corresponding installation solely via launching. No dialog, no option, no nothing. Words fail to express how horrific this UX is.

Author: jdrch

ISTJ, Rice Owl, UF Gator, mechanical engineer. STEM, sports, music, movies, humor. Account mine only & unaffiliated.


