The (Verizon) Samsung Galaxy S5 doesn’t support Qualcomm Quick Charge 2.0

Samsung and Qualcomm totally drop the ball.


Despite the Verizon Samsung Galaxy S5 (SM-G900V) CPU (Qualcomm Snapdragon 801) being listed as Quick Charge 2.0 capable on Qualcomm’s site and claims to that effect on various blogs, the phone doesn’t support the charging standard in testing.

Here’s what I tested my S5 with:

No combination of the above worked. I’ve reached out to Samsung Support about when this might change, but got this rather unhelpful reply:

I’ve also started a Verizon support question thread.

In the mean time, I’ll be RMAing the Tenergy. It cost $20.39 and slow charges the S5 on long USB cables, while the OEM charger costs as little as $7.49 without the same drawback. That’s a no-brainer.

Author: jdrch

ISTJ, Rice Owl, UF Gator, mechanical engineer. STEM, sports, music, movies, humor. Account mine only & unaffiliated.

10 thoughts on “The (Verizon) Samsung Galaxy S5 doesn’t support Qualcomm Quick Charge 2.0”

  1. i wonder if the 5.0 Lollipop will add the QC2.0 support back, as a matter of fact japanese version of S5 (same hardware) suported QC2.0 without any issue, so it’s the software that has to do with the enable/disabling.


    1. Maybe, but I’m not optimistic about that happening. As I said, the original 1st party adapter and cable charge pretty rapidly already AND cost far less than Quick Charge 2.0 solutions, so I’m sticking with the former.


  2. I was about to buy the quick charge 2.0 charger. Thanks for saving me the money, I was really looking forward to seeing how fast it would charge too. Wish they would enable this in the USA.


  3. Thx for doing the test for all of us curious folks. I have the AT&T S5 and recently purchased the Note 4 with T-mobile.
    I tried the Note 4 charger on the S5 and a Samsung Galaxy Tablet Pro 12in and no improvement in the time of charging. At least, the charger is backward compatible.

    Some of the websites (android authority) say it is the processor that controls the Quick Charge 2.0 feature. Unfortunately, Lollipop won’t resolve it. S5 is stuck with Quick Charge 1.0. Shame.



